Barbara Montgomery / Little Sunflower
Жанр: Vocal Jazz
Страна исполнителя (группы): США
Год издания: 2002
Аудиокодек: MP3
Тип рипа: tracks
Битрейт аудио: 320 kbps
Продолжительность: 01:06:35
Наличие сканов в содержимом раздачи: нет
01. An Illusion
02. E-Mail Blues
03. As The Sun
04. Idle Moments
05. Armando's Rhumba
06. You're Always In My Space
07. When We First Met
08. Web Of Glass
09. Vox Barbara

Об исполнителе (группе)


Об альбоме (сборнике)

Produced by Ms. Montgomery and issued on her own record label, Little Sunflower features nine tantalizing songs, many of them written by the songstress and her longtime pianist and co-writer, Barry Sames, as well as covers of Freddie Hubbard and Duke Pearson tunes with Ms. Montgomery's appendant lyrics. Two songs, "Armando's Rhumba" and "You're Always in My Space" hearken back to Ms. Montgomery's previous album, Dakini Land, a tribute to her friendship and the music of master keyboardist Chick Corea and his wordsmith Neville Potter. The latter song is a premier of a never before recorded work of Mr. Corea's; the former includes lyrics written at the request of Ms. Montgomery and recorded for the first time as well. Ms. Montgomery assembled an empathetic group of musicians and let them stretch out, the result being that the songs seems to fully and organically developed to the point of luxuriation. Tenor saxophonist Chris Farr and hornman John Swana provide the perfect complements to Ms. Montgomery's strong, protean singing and their ample solo spaces are packed with smart harmonic inventions and infectious phrasings. Sames, a sparkling pianist, not only energizes the rhythm section, he also supplies a broad, knowing acccompaniment to Ms. Montgomerythat allows her to confidently ride the groove. Her vocals show that she is an acute expositor of the language of power, coercion, and, ultimately, love. Whether it be with husky declarations or soaring sanctifications, Ms. Montgomery's exquisite vocal gifts and unerring attentivness to a song's dynamics come together here on Little Sunflower. Bluesy, shrewd, seductive, gracious, sentimental--few singers around today can color a song like Barbara Montgomery.
Craig Ebner (guitar)
Steve Giordano (acoustic guitar)
Christopher Farr (tenor saxophone)
John Swana (trumpet, flugelhorn)
Barry Sames (piano)
Lee Smith (acoustic bass)
Chico Huff (electric bass)
Marlon Simon (drums, percussion)
Greg McDonald, Dave "Skavido" Brown , Wilby Fletcher (drums)
Abdou M'Boup (percussion)

If you like the topic, please click share to help develop our site.

To download the file disable ad blocking, and reload the page.

disable adblock How to disable ad blocking?

Download by magnet link 154 MB Download Torrent

Login using:

Similar topics

(Vocal Jazz) Barbara Rosene - On the Brink - 2012, MP3, 320 kbps
 138 MB   0 | 0   09-Jul-18 00:37   0
(Vocal Jazz) Barbara Montgomery - Dakini Land - 2001, MP3, 320 kbps
 145 MB   0 | 0   26-Apr-18 12:35   1

Current time is: 26-May 04:50 :: All times are UTC + 3